Student Information

What is

University Prep

University Preparatory Schools (University Prep) are tuition-free public charter schools and are part of Denver Public Schools. We focus on college the second a child walks through our doors. With elements of college culture incorporated into each classroom and college campus visits each year, each U Prep scholar is on the path to a four year college degree.

Schedule a visit

What makes us

Different

 

Small, Safe, Structured

Girl in purple glasses smiles

University Prep’s first campus, University Prep-Arapahoe St, currently serves 360 scholars in grades K-5. Our second campus, University Prep-Steele St opened in August of 2016 and serves 220 scholars in grades K-5. There is a focus on consistency and structure in all classrooms so teachers are 100% focused on teaching and scholars are 100% focused on learning.

Rigor + Joy

Girl in class doing work with a pencil and notebook

University Prep holds high academic expectations for every child. All U Prep scholars take assessments or “show what you knows” every 8-9 weeks to monitor their academic progress. Teachers provide intense academic supports and interventions for scholars who need it. U Prep also incorporates celebration and joy to invest scholars in learning.

Family
Partnership

Kids in class doing standing exercises

Once a family enrolls at U Prep, they participate in multiple parent orientations, a home visit, school registration, mandatory parent-teacher conferences, and parent workshops. But that’s only the beginning. Our families engage in frequent communication with their teachers to form lasting partnerships that are crucial to each scholar’s success.

Character

Little boy with missing front teeth smiles

All scholars and adults in our buildings learn and live by our PREP values of Professionalism, Responsibility, Enthusiasm, and Perseverance. More than rhetoric, our values are the foundation of what we do at U Prep and something we work hard to teach our scholars alongside their daily lessons.

Uprep

Mission & Values

Kinds in uniform and lined up smile for the camera

Educate our scholars

Achievement of our scholars comes first.

Serve our families

Deliver on our college going promise to our families

Serve our team

Always be a team player.

Walk the walk

Live the University Prep values

My child

Treat every scholar as if they were your own child.

Uprep

Academics

University Prep has a high bar of rigor for EVERY scholar.

  • Beginning in kindergarten, scholars receive three hours a day of small-group (no more than 10 scholars) literacy instruction and 90 minutes of math.
  • We implement a team teaching model in the early grades and teachers departmentalize in the upper grades to focus on one core content area.
  • With college readiness as our focus, we coordinate one college visit per year for every classroom; scholars who attend K–5 will visit a minimum of six colleges by the time they graduate.
Kids on a jungle gym outside in the school playground
Student

Test Results

  • 2019 PARCC Math Results
    University Prep 3rd-5th grade scholars outperformed all 12 elementary schools in Near Northeast Denver, Denver Public Schools and the state of Colorado on the 2016 PARCC math assessment.
  • 2019 PARCC ELA Results
    University Prep 3rd-5th grade scholars outperformed all 12 elementary schools in Near Northeast Denver, Denver Public Schools and the state of Colorado on the 2016 PARCC English Language Arts assessment.

Boy with a pencil in class smiles

Our Team

Home Office & Board

Adriana Robledo-Limon
Adriana Robledo-Limon Office Manager 303.329.8412 arobledo@uprepschool.org
Agustin Robledo Limon
Agustin Robledo Limon Special Education Paraprofessional 303.329.8412 arobledolimon@uprepschool.org
Alastair Dawe
Alastair Dawe Chief Operating Officer 303.329.8412 adawe@uprepschool.org
Amanda Richey
Amanda Richey First Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 arichey@uprepschool.org
Amber Britt
Amber Britt Third Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 abritt@uprepschool.org
Andrew Cahalan
Andrew Cahalan Principal Resident 303.292.0463 acahalan@uprepschool.org
Angelica Arambula
Angelica Arambula Family Liaison Manager 303.292.0463 aarambula@uprepschool.org
Ashleigh Vanderpool
Ashleigh Vanderpool Kindergarten Teacher 303.249.0463 avanderpool@uprepschool.org
Austin Peduzzi
Austin Peduzzi Special Education Paraprofessional 303.249.0463 apeduzzi@uprepschool.org
Bev Sloan
Bev Sloan Retired Non-Profit Executive
Brenda Stratemeyer
Brenda Stratemeyer Dean of Academics-Math 303.329.8412 bstratemeyer@uprepschool.org
Brenna Copeland
Brenna Copeland CFO, Jeffco Public Schools
Briea Berry
Briea Berry Manager of Fund Development & Corporate Partnerships 303.329.8412 bberry@uprepschool.org
Brittani Williams
Brittani Williams Second Grade Reading Teacher 303.329.8412 bwilliams@uprepschool.org
Brittany Lawson
Brittany Lawson Scholar Advancement Teacher 303.249.0463 blawson@uprepschool.org
Caitlin Barfield
Caitlin Barfield Dance Teacher 303.249.0463 cbarfield@uprepschool.org
Caren Robledo-Tiscareno
Caren Robledo-Tiscareno Kindergarten Teacher 303.329.8412 crobledo@uprepschool.org
Cassie Aten
Cassie Aten Second Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 caten@uprepschool.org
Christine Tatum
Christine Tatum Fifth Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 ctatum@uprepschool.org
Clare Lundquist
Clare Lundquist Principal 303.329.8412 x102 clundquist@uprepschool.org
Cuneyt Akay
Cuneyt Akay Partner, Greenberg Traurig
Damaris Espinoza
Damaris Espinoza Office Manager 303.292.0463 despinoza@uprepschool.org
David Singer
David Singer Founder & Executive Director 303.329.8412 dsinger@uprepschool.org
Deaunna Bridgeforth
Deaunna Bridgeforth Special Education Paraprofessional 303.249.0463 dbridgeforth@uprepschool.org
Desire Hodge
Desire Hodge Assistant Director of Enrollment 303.249.0463 dhodge@uprepschool.org
Emily Blinn
Emily Blinn Music Teacher 303.329.8412 eblinn@uprepschool.org
Emily Eikelberner
Emily Eikelberner Director of Education, Tuchman Family Foundation
Erica Fonseca
Erica Fonseca Fifth Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 efonseca@uprepschool.org
Erica Lopez
Erica Lopez Scholar Advancement Teacher 303.249.0463 elopez@uprepschool.org
Estrella Alcala
Estrella Alcala Health Technician 303.329.8412 ealcala@uprepschool.org
Fernanda Garcia
Fernanda Garcia First Grade Teaching Fellow 303.249.0463 fgarcia@uprepschool.org
Hannah Stewart
Hannah Stewart Third Grade Teaching Fellow 303.292.0463 hstewart@uprepschool.org
Hillary Reaves
Hillary Reaves Kindergarten Teacher 303.329.8412 hreaves@uprepschool.org
Isaiah Hernandez
Isaiah Hernandez Kindergarten Teacher 303.329.8412 ihernandez@uprepschool.org
Jackie Bass
Jackie Bass Second Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 jbass@uprepschool.org
Jacob Erler
Jacob Erler Second Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 jerler@uprepschool.org
Jean De La Mata
Jean De La Mata Vice President, Project Management Team, Charter School Growth Fund
Jessica Jordan
Jessica Jordan Scholar Advancement Teacher 303.329.8412 jjordan@uprepschool.org
Jesus Tiscareno
Jesus Tiscareno First Grade Teaching Fellow 303.329.8412 jtiscareno@uprepschool.org
Joselyn Salcedo
Joselyn Salcedo Kindergarten Teacher 303.249.0463 jsalcedo@uprepschool.org
Jourdyn-Evonne Lee
Jourdyn-Evonne Lee Scholar Advancement Teacher 303.329.8412 jlee@uprepschool.org
Juan Pena
Juan Pena Executive Director, CrossPurpose
Justice McGhee
Justice McGhee Dean of K-1 Resident 303.249.0463 jmcghee@uprepschool.org
Karla Salas
Karla Salas Dean of Operations 303.292.0463 ksalas@uprepschool.org
Karly Garster
Karly Garster Dean of Academics Resident 303.292.0463 kgarster@uprepschool.org
Kathleen Fleming
Kathleen Fleming Dean of Academics 303.329.8412 kfleming@uprepschool.org
Kathryn Cook
Kathryn Cook Second Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 kcook@uprepschool.org
Keith Michael
Keith Michael Dean of Scholars Associate 303.249.0463 kmichael@uprepschool.org
Kenneth Thompson
Kenneth Thompson Fifth Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 kthompson@uprepschool.org
Kenzie Mader
Kenzie Mader Third Grade Teaching Fellow 303.329.8412 kmader@uprepschool.org
Kevin Heaney
Kevin Heaney Paraprofessional 303.292.0463 kheaney@uprepschool.org
Keyra Fitch
Keyra Fitch Third Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 kfitch@uprepschools.org
Kia Smith
Kia Smith Fourth Grade Teacher 303.292.0463 ksmith@uprepschool.org
Laura Bero
Laura Bero Third Grade Reading Teacher 303.329.8412 lbero@uprepschool.org
Lisa Gutierrez
Lisa Gutierrez 4th Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 lgutierrez@uprepschool.org
Liz Suarez
Liz Suarez Chief Academic Officer 303.329.8412 lsuarez@uprepschool.org
Lourdes Luna
Lourdes Luna First Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 lluna@uprepschool.org
Lourdes Mora
Lourdes Mora Family Liaison Manager 303.329.8412 lmora@uprepschool.org
Madeline Wilmot
Madeline Wilmot Kindergarten Teacher 303.249.0463 mwilmot@uprepschool.org
Marisol Lopez-Barajas
Marisol Lopez-Barajas First Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 mlopez@uprepschool.org
Mark Costanzo
Mark Costanzo Scholar Associate 303.329.8412 mcostanzo@uprepschool.org
Matthew Bailey
Matthew Bailey Teaching Fellow 303.329.8412 mbailey@uprepschool.org
Megan Tomakin
Megan Tomakin Third Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 mtomakin@uprepschool.org
Micah Scott
Micah Scott First Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 mscott@uprepschool.org
Mollie Major
Mollie Major Dean of Scholars 303.249.0463 mmajor@uprepschool.org
Monique Chavez
Monique Chavez Dean of Academics- ELA 303.329.8412 mchavez@uprepschool.org
Myesha Harris
Myesha Harris Dean of Operations 303.249.0463 mharris@uprepschool.org
Nicholas Martinez
Nicholas Martinez Co-Founder, Executive Director, Transform Education Now
Nick Snyder
Nick Snyder Science Teacher 303.249.0463 nsnyder@uprepschool.org
Nicole Torres-Rey
Nicole Torres-Rey Kindergarten Teacher 303.329.8412 ntorresrey@uprepschool.org
Olga Rico-Gutierrez
Olga Rico-Gutierrez Dean of Operations 303.329.8412 x.101 orico@uprepschool.org
Paige Mandelman
Paige Mandelman Fifth Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 pmandelman@uprepschool.org
Phoebe Rolland
Phoebe Rolland Fourth Grade ELA Teacher 303.292.0463 prolland@uprepschool.org
Rachel Kercher
Rachel Kercher Kindergarten Teaching Fellow 303.329.8412 rkercher@uprepschool.org
Rebekah Oviatt
Rebekah Oviatt Second Grade Reading Teacher 303.292.0463 roviatt@uprepschool.org
Recardo Brooks
Recardo Brooks Direct Service Manager, Chevrolet Denver/Wyoming/Montana
Riley Herzog
Riley Herzog Fifth Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 rherzog@uprepschool.org
Saleem Mahkuel
Saleem Mahkuel Behavorial Technician 303.249.0463 smahkuel@uprepschool.org
Sarah “TL” Waugh
Sarah “TL” Waugh Manager of Multilingual Education 3033298412 swaugh@uprepschool.org
Sean Benton
Sean Benton Scholar Advancement Teacher 303.329.8412 sbenton@uprepschool.org
Shang Sharpe
Shang Sharpe Dean of Scholars 303.329.8412 ssharpe@uprepschool.org
Skyler Denniston
Skyler Denniston Third Grade Teacher 303.249.0463 sdenniston@uprepschool.org
Sofia Peralta-Amador
Sofia Peralta-Amador Director of Talent Acquisition 303.329.8412 speraltaamador@uprepschool.org
Susanna Pasillas
Susanna Pasillas First Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 spasillas@uprepschool.org
Tate Oligney
Tate Oligney Fourth Grade Teacher 303.329.8412 toligney@uprepschool.org
Thelma Behnke
Thelma Behnke Director of Scholar Recruitment & Enrollment 303.329.8412 tbehnke@uprepschool.org
Veronica Luckett
Veronica Luckett Director, King Baptist Childcare and Preschool
Will Dommermuth
Will Dommermuth PE Teacher 303.292.0463 wdommermuth@uprepschool.org
Yanet Herrera
Yanet Herrera Special Education Paraprofessional 303.249.0463 yherrera@uprepschool.org

We have been a part of the University Prep family from the beginning. Over the past school years, I’ve been so proud to see my child grow, learn, and get the support that I feel EVERY child should receive.

Skye Kelley

U Prep Parent