Student Information

What is

University Prep

University Preparatory Schools (University Prep) are tuition-free public charter schools and are part of Denver Public Schools. We focus on college the second a child walks through our doors. With elements of college culture incorporated into each classroom and college campus visits each year, each U Prep scholar is on the path to a four year college degree.

Schedule a visit

What makes us

Different

 

Small, Safe, Structured

Girl in purple glasses smiles

University Prep’s first campus, University Prep-Arapahoe St, currently serves 360 scholars in grades K-5. Our second campus, University Prep-Steele St opened in August of 2016 and serves 220 scholars in grades K-5. There is a focus on consistency and structure in all classrooms so teachers are 100% focused on teaching and scholars are 100% focused on learning.

Rigor + Joy

Girl in class doing work with a pencil and notebook

University Prep holds high academic expectations for every child. All U Prep scholars take assessments or “show what you knows” every 8-9 weeks to monitor their academic progress. Teachers provide intense academic supports and interventions for scholars who need it. U Prep also incorporates celebration and joy to invest scholars in learning.

Family
Partnership

Kids in class doing standing exercises

Once a family enrolls at U Prep, they participate in multiple parent orientations, a home visit, school registration, mandatory parent-teacher conferences, and parent workshops. But that’s only the beginning. Our families engage in frequent communication with their teachers to form lasting partnerships that are crucial to each scholar’s success.

Character

Little boy with missing front teeth smiles

All scholars and adults in our buildings learn and live by our PREP values of Professionalism, Responsibility, Enthusiasm, and Perseverance. More than rhetoric, our values are the foundation of what we do at U Prep and something we work hard to teach our scholars alongside their daily lessons.

Uprep

Mission & Values

Kinds in uniform and lined up smile for the camera

Educate our scholars

Achievement of our scholars comes first.

Serve our families

Deliver on our college going promise to our families

Serve our team

Always be a team player.

Walk the walk

Live the University Prep values

My child

Treat every scholar as if they were your own child.

Uprep

Academics

University Prep has a high bar of rigor for EVERY scholar.

  • Beginning in kindergarten, scholars receive three hours a day of small-group (no more than 10 scholars) literacy instruction and 90 minutes of math.
  • We implement a team teaching model in the early grades and teachers departmentalize in the upper grades to focus on one core content area.
  • With college readiness as our focus, we coordinate one college visit per year for every classroom; scholars who attend K–5 will visit a minimum of six colleges by the time they graduate.
Kids on a jungle gym outside in the school playground
Student

Test Results

  • 2019 PARCC Math Results
    University Prep 3rd-5th grade scholars outperformed all 12 elementary schools in Near Northeast Denver, Denver Public Schools and the state of Colorado on the 2016 PARCC math assessment.
  • 2019 PARCC ELA Results
    University Prep 3rd-5th grade scholars outperformed all 12 elementary schools in Near Northeast Denver, Denver Public Schools and the state of Colorado on the 2016 PARCC English Language Arts assessment.

Boy with a pencil in class smiles

Our Team

Home Office & Board

Alastair Dawe
Alastair Dawe Chief Operating Officer 303.329.8412 adawe@uprepschool.org
Amanda Richey
Amanda Richey First Grade Teaching Fellow 303.329.8412 arichey@uprepschool.org
Andrew Cahalan
Andrew Cahalan Principal Resident 303.292.0463 acahalan@uprepschool.org
Arely Vasquez
Arely Vasquez Operations Associate 303.292.0463 avasquez@uprepschool.org
Bev Sloan
Bev Sloan Retired Non-Profit Executive
Brenda Stratemeyer
Brenda Stratemeyer Dean of Academics-Math 303.329.8412 bstratemeyer@uprepschool.org
Brenna Copeland
Brenna Copeland CFO, Jeffco Public Schools
Briea Berry
Briea Berry Manger of Fund Development & Corporate Partnerships 303.329.8412 bberry@uprepschool.org
Brittani Williams
Brittani Williams Second Grade Reading Teacher 303.329.8412 bwilliams@uprepschool.org
Carmina O’Sullivan-Scimemi
Carmina O’Sullivan-Scimemi Third Grade ELA Teacher 303.329.8412 cosullivanscimemi@uprepschool.org
Christine Thorn
Christine Thorn Second Grade ELA Teacher 303.329.8412 cthorn@uprepschool.org
Citlally Flores
Citlally Flores Receptionist 303.292.0463 cflores@uprepschool.org
Clare Lundquist
Clare Lundquist Principal 303.329.8412 x102 clundquist@uprepschool.org
Cristal Torres-López
Cristal Torres-López Dean of Operations 303.292.0463 ctorreslopez@uprepschool.org
Cuneyt Akay
Cuneyt Akay Partner, Greenberg Traurig
Dakota Nichols
Dakota Nichols First Grade ELA Teacher 303.329.8412 dnichols@uprepschool.org
David Scanavino
David Scanavino Founding Principal, Executive Vice President & Chief Medical Officer - MMM Healthcare
David Singer
David Singer Founder & Executive Director 303.329.8412 dsinger@uprepschool.org
Emily Blinn
Emily Blinn Music Teacher 303.329.8412 eblinn@uprepschool.org
Emily Eikelberner
Emily Eikelberner Director of Education, Tuchman Family Foundation
Emmanuela Blanc
Emmanuela Blanc Kindergarten Teacher 303.292.0463 eblanc@uprepschool.org
Gabrielle Mann
Gabrielle Mann Third Grade ELA Teacher 303.292.0463 gmann@uprepschool.org
Gracen Staunton
Gracen Staunton Teacher 303-329-8412 gstaunton@uprepschool.org
Jackie Bass
Jackie Bass Second Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 jbass@uprepschool.org
James Christensen
James Christensen Third Grade Math Teacher 303.292.0463 jchristensen@uprepschool.org
Janáe Brown
Janáe Brown Second Grade ELA Teacher 303.292.0463 jbrown@uprepschool.org
Jasmine Montero
Jasmine Montero Dean of Scholars 303.292.0463 jmontero@uprepschool.org
Jeffrey Stephens
Jeffrey Stephens Scholar Advancement Teacher 303.292.0463 jstephens@uprepschool.org
Juan Pena
Juan Pena Executive Director, CrossPurpose
Karla Garcia
Karla Garcia Dean of Operations Resident (Future Dean of Operations of U Prep #3) 303.329.8412 kgarcia@uprepschool.org
Karly Garster
Karly Garster Fifth Grade ELA Teacher 303.292.0463 kgarster@uprepschool.org
Katie Prather
Katie Prather Kindergarten Math Teacher 303.329.8412 kprather@uprepschool.org
Kelly Stewart
Kelly Stewart Fifth Grade ELA Teacher 303.329.8412 kstewart@uprepschool.org
Kevin Heaney
Kevin Heaney Paraprofessional 303.292.0463 kheaney@uprepschool.org
Kia Smith
Kia Smith Fourth Grade Math Teacher 303.292.0463 ksmith@uprepschool.org
Kimberlee Sia
Kimberlee Sia President & CEO, Colorado "I Have a Dream" Foundation
Laura Angell
Laura Angell Fourth Grade Reading Teacher 303.292.0463 langell@uprepschool.org
Laura Bero
Laura Bero Third Grade Reading Teacher 303.329.8412 lbero@uprepschool.org
Lauren Zink
Lauren Zink Fifth Grade Reading Teacher 303.292.0463 lzink@uprepschool.org
Liz Suarez
Liz Suarez Chief Academic Officer 303.329.8412 lsuarez@uprepschool.org
Lourdes Luna
Lourdes Luna First Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 lluna@uprepschool.org
Lourdes Mora
Lourdes Mora Operations Associate & Tutor Coordinator 303.329.8412 lmora@uprepschool.org
Mamie J. Howard
Mamie J. Howard Principal Resident (Future Principal of U Prep #3) 303.329.8412 mhoward@uprepschool.org
Markell Lucas
Markell Lucas Fifth Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 mlucas@uprepschool.org
Megan Tomakin
Megan Tomakin Third Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 mtomakin@uprepschool.org
Monique Chavez
Monique Chavez Dean of Academics- ELA 303.329.8412 mchavez@uprepschool.org
Morgan Ray
Morgan Ray Principal Resident 303.292.0463 mray@uprepschool.org
Nic Puentes
Nic Puentes Fourth Grade Math Teacher 303.329.8412 npuentes@uprepschool.org
Nicholas Martinez
Nicholas Martinez Co-Founder, Executive Director, Transform Education Now
Olga Rico-Gutierrez
Olga Rico-Gutierrez Dean of Operations 303.329.8412 x.101 orico@uprepschool.org
Paiton Coleman
Paiton Coleman Fourth Grade Teaching Fellow 303.292.0463 pcoleman@uprepschool.org
Phoebe Rolland
Phoebe Rolland Fourth Grade ELA Teacher 303.292.0463 prolland@uprepschool.org
Rebekah Oviatt
Rebekah Oviatt Second Grade Reading Teacher 303.292.0463 roviatt@uprepschool.org
Recardo Brooks
Recardo Brooks Direct Service Manager, Chevrolet Denver/Wyoming/Montana
Renae Bellew
Renae Bellew Director of College Access Services, Denver Scholarship Foundation
Shang Sharpe
Shang Sharpe Dean of Scholars 303.329.8412 ssharpe@uprepschool.org
Tawny Modert
Tawny Modert First Grade Teacher 303.292.0463 ternsberger@uprepschool.org
Thelma Behnke
Thelma Behnke Director of Scholar Recruitment & Enrollment 303.329.8412 tbehnke@uprepschool.org
Tinuke Laguda
Tinuke Laguda Fifth Grade Math Teacher 303.292.0463 tlaguda@uprepschool.org
Tracey Lovett
Tracey Lovett Coach, Cross Purpose
Will Dommermuth
Will Dommermuth PE Teacher 303.292.0463 wdommermuth@uprepschool.org
Yudeli Quiroga-Perez
Yudeli Quiroga-Perez First Grade Teacher 303.292.0463 yquiroga-perez@uprepschool.org
Zoe Stamos
Zoe Stamos Third Grade Teaching Fellow 303.329.8412 zstamos@uprepschool.org

We have been a part of the University Prep family from the beginning. Over the past school years, I’ve been so proud to see my child grow, learn, and get the support that I feel EVERY child should receive.

Skye Kelley

U Prep Parent